Posted in Thrifting

Quick Check Ins=Treasures

(Originally penned for the Habitat Metrolina Restore…)

People are always asking me how I am able to find such good deals at the Restore. One of the best ways to ensure that you are getting the best deals possible is to shop often. It makes sense; it’s statistical- the more you go, the more chances you have to find something special. But everyone’s really busy and it’s hard to make the time, right? I have the solution!

My shopping style typically is slow; I like to circle the store a few times and then really get in there, move things around and dig through for the treasure. But like most people I don’t always have time for that so sometimes I just stop as I am driving by and do a what I call a ‘quick check’. I allow myself  fifteen minutes to see what I can find, and that’s it! I walk in the store, set the timer and go. At the end of the fifteen minutes I head to the register with whatever I have gathered.

Here are some items from one such quick stop last week at the Charlotte Restore on Wilkinson Blvd.

These midcentury curved back club chairs and tufted sofa-all just waiting

for new fun upholstery:

The maple low side table, perfect for the chairs and couches of the time (like above):

That’s almost a whole living room for well under $200!

I gasped when I saw this fab-tastic Thomasville dining room set complete with 6 chairs and a leaf for the table- all in great condition:

Add this kitschy wooden carved fork and spoon wall art- perfect for every mid mod dining area:

There’s your dining room, also under $200.

There was a big exotic Asian influence during the midcentury as well. Check out this great planter which could easily be repurposed as a table centerpiece, perhaps on the above dining table  or could also double as a stylish catch all for TV remotes:

This beautiful ceramic tea set that could be used for either tea or home décor- or both:

That was a lot of value for a quick stop! Try the 15 minute quick check yourself and let me know what you find!

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

