Posted in vintage upcycle

Vintage Tie Rack Upcycle

(Originally written for the Metrolina Restore Blog…)

 Sometimes I buy something for one purpose and then I surprise myself by using it for something else entirely. Does this ever happen to you?

Case in point: this lovely wooden inlaid vintage tie rack. I loved it from the minute I found it for $1 and figured I’d use for organizing somehow, though I wasn’t exactly sure how when I blew the dust off of it at the ReStore.


When I found this rack awhile back, I thought it may be perfect for hanging scarves. I love scarves and have tons of them and I am always trying to think of a cool, unique way to organize them; it made sense and I thought it might make a cool wall display.

Last week I decided I would hang the rack and start organizing some of those crazy scarves. I started my process of moving the tie rack around the walls to see where it might fit and as my eyes landed in a pile of not-so neat costume jewelry necklaces it hit me: this thing would be even more AWESOME for organizing my necklaces!

And voila…I cannot believe I ever considered it for anything else:

It’s perfect for this use, proving sometimes you just need to be flexible in your thinking about how you’ll use and upcycle the treasures you find. But ahhhhh…I still need something to help me out with those scarves…

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

