Posted in reupholster

The $50 Midcentury ReStore Sectional Gets a New Dress

Originally penned as a guest blog post for the Metrolina Restore Blog

Remember that little floral sectional from my post several weeks back? It was in fab condition, on a ridiculously inexpensive red-line markdown ($50 for both pieces! WHAT?!) and just waititng there at the ReStore in Cabbarus for someone to pick it up and buy it a new ‘dress’:

Well,  my Upholsterer guru extraordinaire, Dennis from Revived Furniture Gallery and I went to the land of fabric and narrowed it down to one of these two starburst-y fun but neutral patterns:

It was harder for me to decide this time than usual…but the lighter color won out! Here’s the finished sectional in my living room with another mod chair that Dennis revived for me awhile back:

And if you want a definitive before and after:

And because I cannot stand it…here’s the ‘before’ of the orange chair, just to show you some more upholstery magic:

Pretty fab-tastic, right?! I couldn’t be happier! This sectional  has truly been one of my best ReStore finds yet- and proof that getting out of town can help you find those vintage and midcentury deals and steals! I’d love to hear about your fab ReStore finds and see all of your up-cycled vintage projects too!

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

