Posted in Gifts, Mod Charlotte, Recycle, Recylce, Repurpose, Vintage 50s

Mod Bettie Talks Vintage with Wilson of WCCB News Rising at the Gaston ReStore

This TV appearance for the Metrolina Habitat ReStores made for such a fun (albeit EARLY) morning!

I shopped the ReStore in Gastonia and shared tips on great vintage gift ideas with Wilson of WCCB News Rising. Tons of great gift ideas throughout the store will  help you check things off your list this season while giving back and staying green!

Towards the end (7:18) we discuss all things vintage and related to gifting: home décor, summers at Myrtle Beach, Puzzles > Smartphones, mugs &  frames and debate whether a *FAB* vintage elf lamp is creepy or cute….

Watch the video here:  Gastonia ReStore Vintage Gift Treasure Hunt with Wilson

Here I am, defending the lamp to Wilson, which is hidden from view in this pic:

Emphatically defending the lamp
Defending the lamp

After many offers to purchase said vintage pixie lamp and subsequent refusals,  my hubs has now stolen it from me (!!!) to be part of his tiki room kitschy Christmas décor:

Vintage elf lamp: Found at the Gaston ReStore
Vintage elf lamp: Found at the Gaston ReStore

And okay so here’s a fab closeup:

Definately CUTE!
Definitely CUTE!

Well, I DO  still think it’s just completely A-DOR-Able!

SOOOOOOOO…..now I must know what YOU think,  dear reader!  Are you in the Wilson camp where this lamp is ‘creeping you out’?  Or,  do you think it’s just the MOST awesome kitschy cute vintage-y goodness and perfection, like moi? I certainly know by now that in vintage (and in life)– one person’s ‘cute’ is typically always another’s ‘creepy’… please comment and let me know!

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

One thought on “Mod Bettie Talks Vintage with Wilson of WCCB News Rising at the Gaston ReStore

  1. I think it’s great. Not only seasonal cool, but elves are more like Brownies which is a mischievous variety of elf –

Leave a Reply

