Posted in Thrifting, Vintage 50s

Going off the Grid…or Out of Town, at least, for the MidCentury Treasure Hunt

(RePost from the Metrolina ReStores Blog)

I had a great opportunity yesterday to travel with my blog sisters on a ReStore field out of the Charlotte to a ReStore in Hickory, NC. I know in my thrifting heart that their are many BIG mod deals to be had in smaller towns-less people looking for them there, statistically-but truthfully,  my crazy busy schedule has prevented much travel outside Charlotte recently. Boy was I glad I went!

First of all, when we pulled up to the Hickory ReStore, there was a huge sign out front…a sign that makes all shoppers hearts immediately go aflutter: “50% OFF “….and that was on everything in the store that was over $1.  Yowza! We all practically burst out of the blogger van like Shopping Superheroes and ran in side to see what goodies awaited us!

You never know what you’ll find a ReStore, and this one had lots of stuff that I haven’t typically seen  in a ReStore–like large bolts of fabric and some very cool vintage vinyl from 50s 60s 70s and even 80s–Rick Springfield anyone? These were .25 each-all the time! I love to listen to them and use them for decoration in LP frames:

They also had lots of Holiday items out including Halloween items and costumes and I picked up some fab vintagey Christmas goodies:

In a case upfront they had these two beauties, unmarked headvases in the style of Lefton or Napco which I adore:

And a perfect midcentury amber genie bottle (far right) with finial  stopper to add to my existing glass collection:

And a sought after midcentury decor item I have really been wanting to happen up on for awhile:

A swank mid mod Samsonite round vintage suitcase! The inside is in great condition and it also had the key tucked away in a pocket —this almost never happens–score! All for 50% OFF the already low ReStore prices, so wowee, this really reinforces the travel-to-get-the-best-deals ideas. This wasn’t all I got, mind you…just a few of the most special items, so it was completely worth the trip.

So what are you waiting for? Get outta town, do some thrifting and see what you can find–I’d love to hear all!

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

