Posted in Vintage 50s

Happy Memorial Day –Vintage Grill & BBQ

In honor of one of the biggest BBQing holidays of the year, here are some fun vintage ads I found in the June 1957 issue of Better Homes and Gardens!

Check out this fun Campbells soup ad, dreamed up, I’m guessing by some Mad Men-like types trying to find new ways to market and sell soup in the heat and humidity of the summer! Poured right off the grill “hot from a pot into mugs”:

Campbell's Soup on the Barbie
Campbell’s Soup on the Barbie

 

And this next one stopped me dead in my tracks because- hey, what’s that red filling inside those peaches on the fancy quilted tin foil? Catsup! Or Chili, or other relishes, it seems…

Cling Peaches From California
Cling Peaches From California

And now here’s two idyllic family BBQ scenes from the same 1957 mag, just to show you how fun and fab the 50’s really was:

Everything here can be bought at Sears!
Everything here can be bought at Sears!
Stew on the Grill, Cowboys in the Yard

Happy Memorial Everyone!

~ModB

 

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

