Posted in Thrifting

Why thrift?

I have to admit, I am NOT a thrifter from way back. Although I have always loved the hunt, it never occurred to me to thrift until the hubs and I fulfilled a dream to move to a Mid-Century house and furnish it with mid mod furniture. Even then, my road to thrifting took steps: first I shopped Mid-Century resale and antique stores, and with the occasional exception found out quickly that I was getting priced out of my budget. (Thanks a lot Mad Men- you’ve made MY favorite stuff EVERYONE’s favorite stuff. ) Then I discovered online auctions; those can also be fun, but you may sometimes end up paying more that you meant to pay, if you are, ahem, competitive at all, and perhaps could get caught up the idea of auction-winning for the sake of winning. These are all great ways to find MCM and vintage goodies, but to me, none of them compare to the true excitement of happening up on that little retro gem yourself at your local thrift store for really, really cheap. That’s awesomeness people, pure awesomeness.

Thrifting is good for the environment because it is recycling, repurposing and breathing new life into an item that had been previously discarded- and really, what could be better than that?! Most of the mid century items I seek out, collect and love were made right here in the USA- and still have so much to offer in the way of history, style, functionality and use—and that’s just plain ah-mazing to me, considering the age of some of the fab stuff I find. So I am going to be blogging the how-tos and where-tos of thrifting and vintage shopping in and around Charlotte and surrounding areas in North Carolina. And, wherever I go from now on. Ahhhhhhhhhh: a thrifting road trip-I can’t wait for that one!

Are you a thrifter? Do you love vintage goods and collect? Do you repurpose and upcycle? WOWEE–ME TOO!
So let’s swap some stories—-
ModB

Author:

I am and actor and producer on the lookout for midcentury gold while furnishing my 1956 atomic ranch! Happily thrifting my way through life and sharing the info and tips as I go... I am a vintage dealer at Sleepy Poet Antique Mall in Charlotte, NC

Leave a Reply

